The Use of Emotion in Storytelling

July 22nd, 2013

  I was recently in dialogue with a reader about the use of homoeroticism in my novels. She asked if I had intentionally created a correlation between two homosexual characters (Sandrine du Préc in Cephrael’s Hand and the Prophet Bethamin in Dagger of Adendigaeth) and unethical conduct. In short, I had not. However, I found […]

An Amuse-bouche for Fans of A Pattern of Shadow and Light

June 23rd, 2013

As some of you may know, I’ve been traveling in Europe this month gathering a plethora of research for book three. Much of the third installment of A Pattern of Shadow & Light is set in the Empire of Agasan – specifically in the Sacred City of Faroqhar – which in turn is based on […]

Overcoming Writer’s Block – 5 Unconventional Ideas

April 29th, 2013

As writers, we innately tend to know when our story is working and when it isn’t. I like to describe this awareness as a sort of resonance, but it could just as easily be compared to an engine with all pistons firing. A skilled mechanic can tell just by listening when an engine isn’t purring […]

Fear: The Most Undervalued Emotion in Fantasy

April 26th, 2013

I’m thrilled to host this guest post from fantasy author A.E. Marling (@AEMarling) in celebration of the upcoming release of his epic fantasy novel, Gravity’s Revenge.  “The time for fear is past.” ~ King Theoden, The Lord of the Rings In fantasy worlds, fear is the enemy. It swoops down on black wings to smash the heroes to […]

Reviews, Writer’s Block & the Author’s Integrity – A Problematic Trinity

March 12th, 2013

I’ve been struggling recently with a situation that arose from the number of positive—yes, I just said positive—reviews I’ve received on my latest novel (which, by the way, was recently selected as a Finalist for the ForeWord Book of the Year – yay!) It took me a bit to sort through just what I was […]

The Next Big Thing

January 20th, 2013

By some fluke of planetary alignment, divine intervention, or (possibly) my unexpectedly excellent karma, three authors have nominated me for The Next Big Thing in the same momentous weekend. I’m not sure what I’ve done to deserve such an honor, but I accept with gratitude and a plethora of thanks. First, with gratitude to Clive […]

On Reviews, Obsession and Art (and a gratuitous adorable kitty pic)

January 11th, 2013

My cat Sam sits with me when I write, whether I’m working on my laptop or composing on the piano. He likes being around when I’m being creative, which is pretty cool, considering he’s a cat. As a child, the idea of having a cat for a writing companion seemed wonderfully romantic; in reality, he’s […]

Contest Winners – Cephrael’s Hand Whirlwind Tour Wrapup

January 7th, 2013

Thank you so much to everyone who participated in the Cephrael’s Hand whirlwind tour by posting reviews, excerpts, interviews, and reviews. I am incredibly grateful for your generous support and interest!   I’m pleased to announce the winners of our big contests (winners have also been notified by email). Winners were chosen by a Novel Publicity Panel […]

Epic fantasy contest, epic prizes, what could be better?

January 4th, 2013

Okay everyone, it’s time to get creative and compete for huge prizes as part of Novel Publicity’s Cephrael’s Hand Whirlwind Tour. We’re hosting one gigantic contest with two separate parts, which means you can enter once, twice… as many times as you like! Help me create a character that will be featured in book #3 of A […]

3 Steps to Happiness – My New Year’s Wish

December 30th, 2012

One can find a plethora of quotes on the subject of happiness, from philosophers and writers to superstars or saints. Happiness seems the most universally sought commodity worldwide. Perhaps my interest in this topic of late is a result of the holidays, or perhaps it stems from spending too much time marketing my novels recently and […]