How Not to Write Yourself into a Corner (in Your Novel and in Life)

July 28th, 2014

There’s something known as writing yourself into a corner. This phrase might be used to describe any number of authorial ailments, from the scene that mystifyingly “doesn’t work,” to the sinking realization—many chapters in—that your entire plot resolution hinges on something your protagonist can’t possibly know about. While trying to finish my third novel, Paths […]

#Excerpt from Paths of Alir, A Pattern of Shadow & Light Book 3

July 6th, 2014

Paths of Alir, the third book in my epic fantasy series, A Pattern of Shadow & Light, is in the final stages of pre-production (cover design and layout for press). The publication date is scheduled for October, 2014. Believe me, I understand that it feels like cruel and unusual punishment to be kept waiting (especially since  you’ve been waiting so long already!) when the book […]

Breaking Up With Your Novel

April 22nd, 2014

Last week I finished penning the third book in my epic fantasy series and sent it off to beta readers. Paths of Alir was two years in the planning/writing, and the final clocked in around 300,000 words. (It is an epic fantasy. Providing a series is well-crafted, anything short of 250k and epic fantasy fans somewhat […]

The Use of Emotion in Storytelling

July 22nd, 2013

  I was recently in dialogue with a reader about the use of homoeroticism in my novels. She asked if I had intentionally created a correlation between two homosexual characters (Sandrine du Préc in Cephrael’s Hand and the Prophet Bethamin in Dagger of Adendigaeth) and unethical conduct. In short, I had not. However, I found […]

An Amuse-bouche for Fans of A Pattern of Shadow and Light

June 23rd, 2013

As some of you may know, I’ve been traveling in Europe this month gathering a plethora of research for book three. Much of the third installment of A Pattern of Shadow & Light is set in the Empire of Agasan – specifically in the Sacred City of Faroqhar – which in turn is based on […]

Overcoming Writer’s Block – 5 Unconventional Ideas

April 29th, 2013

As writers, we innately tend to know when our story is working and when it isn’t. I like to describe this awareness as a sort of resonance, but it could just as easily be compared to an engine with all pistons firing. A skilled mechanic can tell just by listening when an engine isn’t purring […]

Fear: The Most Undervalued Emotion in Fantasy

April 26th, 2013

I’m thrilled to host this guest post from fantasy author A.E. Marling (@AEMarling) in celebration of the upcoming release of his epic fantasy novel, Gravity’s Revenge.  “The time for fear is past.” ~ King Theoden, The Lord of the Rings In fantasy worlds, fear is the enemy. It swoops down on black wings to smash the heroes to […]

Reviews, Writer’s Block & the Author’s Integrity – A Problematic Trinity

March 12th, 2013

I’ve been struggling recently with a situation that arose from the number of positive—yes, I just said positive—reviews I’ve received on my latest novel (which, by the way, was recently selected as a Finalist for the ForeWord Book of the Year – yay!) It took me a bit to sort through just what I was […]

The Next Big Thing

January 20th, 2013

By some fluke of planetary alignment, divine intervention, or (possibly) my unexpectedly excellent karma, three authors have nominated me for The Next Big Thing in the same momentous weekend. I’m not sure what I’ve done to deserve such an honor, but I accept with gratitude and a plethora of thanks. First, with gratitude to Clive […]

On Reviews, Obsession and Art (and a gratuitous adorable kitty pic)

January 11th, 2013

My cat Sam sits with me when I write, whether I’m working on my laptop or composing on the piano. He likes being around when I’m being creative, which is pretty cool, considering he’s a cat. As a child, the idea of having a cat for a writing companion seemed wonderfully romantic; in reality, he’s […]