Latest NewS

The Use of Emotion in Storytelling

  I was recently in dialogue with a reader about the use of homoeroticism in my novels. She asked if I had intentionally created a correlation between two homosexual characters (Sandrine du Préc in Cephrael’s Hand and the Prophet Bethamin in Dagger of Adendigaeth) and...

read more

An Amuse-bouche for Fans of A Pattern of Shadow and Light

As some of you may know, I’ve been traveling in Europe this month gathering a plethora of research for book three. Much of the third installment of A Pattern of Shadow & Light is set in the Empire of Agasan – specifically in the Sacred City of Faroqhar – which in...

read more

Overcoming Writer’s Block – 5 Unconventional Ideas

As writers, we innately tend to know when our story is working and when it isn’t. I like to describe this awareness as a sort of resonance, but it could just as easily be compared to an engine with all pistons firing. A skilled mechanic can tell just by listening when...

read more

Fear: The Most Undervalued Emotion in Fantasy

I'm thrilled to host this guest post from fantasy author A.E. Marling (@AEMarling) in celebration of the upcoming release of his epic fantasy novel, Gravity's Revenge.  “The time for fear is past.” ~ King Theoden, The Lord of the Rings In fantasy worlds, fear is the...

read more

The Next Big Thing

By some fluke of planetary alignment, divine intervention, or (possibly) my unexpectedly excellent karma, three authors have nominated me for The Next Big Thing in the same momentous weekend. I'm not sure what I've done to deserve such an honor, but I accept with...

read more

Contest Winners – Cephrael’s Hand Whirlwind Tour Wrapup

Thank you so much to everyone who participated in the Cephrael's Hand whirlwind tour by posting reviews, excerpts, interviews, and reviews. I am incredibly grateful for your generous support and interest!   I’m pleased to announce the winners of our big contests...

read more

Epic fantasy contest, epic prizes, what could be better?

Okay everyone, it's time to get creative and compete for huge prizes as part of Novel Publicity's Cephrael's Hand Whirlwind Tour. We’re hosting one gigantic contest with two separate parts, which means you can enter once, twice… as many times as you like! Help me...

read more

3 Steps to Happiness – My New Year’s Wish

One can find a plethora of quotes on the subject of happiness, from philosophers and writers to superstars or saints. Happiness seems the most universally sought commodity worldwide. Perhaps my interest in this topic of late is a result of the holidays, or perhaps it...

read more

A glimpse of Cephrael’s Hand

This week I thought I'd give you an excerpt from Cephrael's Hand. This chapter provides our first glimpse of the constellation and its ominous implications. "To know love is to know fear." - Attributed to the angiel Epiphany   The skiff bobbed on icy waves as two...

read more

Building A Fantasy World – The Magic of Genre Fiction

  Many thanks to The Cover by Brittany for originally hosting this post on her blog.    Some fantasy authors cringe at the topic of world-building, but actually, it's one of the most thrilling aspects of writing genre fiction. When we write fantasy, we become the...

read more

Why everyone should read Fantasy

  “I cannot remember the books I've read any more than the meals I have eaten; even so, they have made me.” –Ralph Waldo Emerson  We are what we read. In big ways and small, the books, articles and even social commentary that we ingest fuels our thinking like...

read more

This is the space, this is the place

Here it is, your first sneak peak from The Dagger of Adendigaeth, A Pattern of Shadow & Light Book 2!    Chapter One   “Nobility is birthed not of blood but of the heart.” - Gydryn val Lorian, King of Dannym   The temple of the Prophet Bethamin in...

read more

My Journey into Writing Fantasy

  This is an excerpt from my post on Fiction Frolic for All Hallow's Read. Check it out to see how ten authors are banding together to raise 1000 books for literacy!     Reading has always been an irreplaceable part of my life. I’ve my grandmother to thank for this,...

read more

Exploring Tropes – The Ultimate Evil Dark Lord

The word trope is defined in most dictionaries as “a word or expression used in a figurative sense,” but trope has become reinterpreted in today’s vernacular to refer to an often overused plot device.   The conflict inherent in tropes as they apply to genre literature...

read more

Fiction Frolic for All Hallows Read

  For the first 3 weeks of October, myself and nine amazing authors have pooled our creative resources into a promotional event to support the tradition originated by Neil Gaiman of giving a book or a scary story away each Halloween. You can read more about All...

read more

Some Thoughts On Maps

In my last blog post, I included updated images from Kentaro Kanamoto for the cover of The Dagger of Adendigaeth and expounded on my beliefs about the importance of your book cover. I'm now revealing the new Map of Alorin (which I am totally in love with) and saying...

read more

More Than Skin Deep – What’s In A Cover?

I've been working with an artist on the cover for book 2, The Dagger of Adendigaeth, as we creep ever closer to publication. For this book cover, I asked Kentaro Kanamoto to paint on his virtual canvas what I've been envisioning in the universe of my own mind for so...

read more

© 2018, Melissa McPhail. All rights reserved. Some affiliate links in use.    •    Website designed by Rocket Expansion

Pin It on Pinterest