Dagger Of Adendigaeth | Official Author Website of Melissa McPhail

Posts Tagged ‘Dagger of Adendigaeth’

Dagger of Adendigaeth on Audible (and Maybe Something About Kingdom Blades)

Today the audiobook edition of The Dagger of Adendigaeth releases on Audible. Yay! Grateful thanks to Podium Publishing and the talented Nick Podehl for bringing my award-winning fantasy series to audio life. (I have to say that for SEO purposes – not just trying to toot my own horn, here). Dagger is set up with Whispersync, for those of you. . . Read More


The Treatment of Sexuality in A Pattern of Shadow & Light

Some of you have written in asking me about the presentation and treatment of homosexuality in my novels. You pointed out that the majority of incidents involving homosexual characters portray those characters as being evil. You indicated to me that in presenting those characters as evil, it sends a negative message about homosexuality, and you. . . Read More


The Strands of Elae and Their Associated Adepts

Many of you have been asking about the magical strands of elae and their associated Adepts. This is a pared down version of the chart that appears in Paths of Alir (that chart contains information that would be spoilers for the earlier books). I plan to soon include this chart in the ebook versions of Cephrael’s Hand and. . . Read More


Author Q&A and a Plea to Aspiring Writers

To my readers: please know how much I appreciate your emails, mentions and comments! Recently, many of you have written to me asking similar questions. I thought it would be best to answer all of you here on my blog in order to give your questions adequate address. I’ve lumped your questions together into these three: “What inspired you to. . . Read More


They’re here! Spectacular new covers for A Pattern of Shadow & Light Books 1-3

  When I began thinking about cover design for Paths of Alir, the third book in my award-winning epic fantasy series, A Pattern of Shadow & Light, I started looking through covers for similar fantasy books published in the last few years. When I published Dagger of Adendigaeth in 2012, fantasy covers were still primarily showing work from commissioned graphic artists. In the. . . Read More


An Amuse-bouche for Fans of A Pattern of Shadow and Light

As some of you may know, I’ve been traveling in Europe this month gathering a plethora of research for book three. Much of the third installment of A Pattern of Shadow & Light is set in the Empire of Agasan – specifically in the Sacred City of Faroqhar – which in turn is based on. . . Read More


Overcoming Writer’s Block – 5 Unconventional Ideas

As writers, we innately tend to know when our story is working and when it isn’t. I like to describe this awareness as a sort of resonance, but it could just as easily be compared to an engine with all pistons firing. A skilled mechanic can tell just by listening when an engine isn’t purring. . . Read More


This is the space, this is the place

Here it is, your first sneak peak from The Dagger of Adendigaeth, A Pattern of Shadow & Light Book 2!    Chapter One   “Nobility is birthed not of blood but of the heart.” – Gydryn val Lorian, King of Dannym   The temple of the Prophet Bethamin in Tambarré was built upon the ruins. . . Read More


More Than Skin Deep – What’s In A Cover?

I’ve been working with an artist on the cover for book 2, The Dagger of Adendigaeth, as we creep ever closer to publication. For this book cover, I asked Kentaro Kanamoto to paint on his virtual canvas what I’ve been envisioning in the universe of my own mind for so long. He’s returned some incredible. . . Read More